Researching For A Story

Okay. I just want to warn you all that my latest story idea has lead to my google search history looking stranger than it has ever been and, naturally, I am going to talk about it here.

Let me start at the beginning.

I belong to a writing group that puts together some pretty fantastic anthologies. Their latest anthology – A Journey of Words – has recently been released. It is a collection of stories with a central theme – that of a physical journey, or travel. If that’s piqued your interest, you can find it on Amazon, or directly from the publisher, Scout Media.

Anyway, the next anthology  – A Haunting of Words – will include stories around, you guessed it, hauntings and ghosts. I have a huge amount of respect for the quality of writing that you will find within these anthologies and I hope to join the talent that has so far contributed.

Brian Paone, (pronounced Pay-oh-nee) Owner/Operator of Scout Media and Co-Founder of the Fiction Writing group on Facebook is encouraging those who wish to submit for this anthology to think outside of the horror genre. Ghosts don’t have to be scary. I am a horror girl at heart though, so ultimately I am going to have to disappoint him.

Sorry Brian.

I am, however, looking to move outside of my comfort zone by considering a different form of inspiration. Brian writes in a rare genre called Rock/Musical Fiction. In simplest terms, he likes to pull apart the themes and storylines within a song or album, and re-write it as a fictional story. My haunting story is being inspired by the band Evanescence and more specifically, their album ‘Fallen’.

 

I don’t want to give away the entire storyline but the below search terms may just give you a few clues.

  1. Narcissism – I looked into the key characteristics of a narcissistic personality. Not too bad all by itself, but when when you couple it with…
  2. Signs Of An Abusive Relationship – …you may start turning heads. My fiance is now slightly concerned that people will start thinking he’s a self-centred abuser.
  3. Incubus – I looked into the myths surrounding the Succubus and Incubus. I found out that Merlin was born to a human woman but sired from an incubus. That’s where he gets his magic from. Interesting, but not all that relevant to my story. other parts of the myth were rather useful, however.
  4. Spectrophilia

That’s right folks, I googled the term used to describe those who are aroused by the idea of having sex with ghosts, or are aroused by having sex with actual ghosts. It’s also the term used for those aroused my mirror images, but that’s irrelevant.This was by far one strangest thing I have ever researched. It is one of the most difficult too, since there really isn’t all that much to find.

So my story will involve sex with ghosts, a succubus or incubus , narcissistic personalities, and abuse.

Sounds like such a sunny and delightful story, doesn’t it?

What is the weirdest thing you have ever searched for on Google, and why were you searching for it?

 

 

Leave a Reply

