Liebster Award

Liebster Award

Woo!

Thank you very much to Kate Loveton @ Odyssey of a Novice Writer for nominating me for my very first award! If you still haven’t checked out her blog, then you NEED to.

The idea of the Liebster award is to get exposure for new/small blogs which means any blog with less than 1000 followers. This varies as the ‘rules’ aren’t official so I just picked a few people I liked to nominate.

First off, I thought I would share a few things about me:

  1. I have green eyes and I am rather proud of them. Apparently, less than 2% of the world’s population have green eyes. Nobody else in my family has them that I have found so far.

 

  1. I have four brothers and one sister. I have two older brothers, two younger brothers and a younger sister. Having grown up with such a big family, I sometimes get a little freaked out being on my own. I have been known to have the TV on just for background noise, even when I’m not in the room
  1. I am (very) distantly related to the King of Tonga. My great aunt (my grandmother’s sister) married the current king’s cousin. Unfortunately, this does not make me a princess.

 

  1. I have a secret addiction to mobile games like Hobbit: Kingdoms of Middle Earth. I’ve played that specific game since 2012.

 

  1. My friends don’t like going shopping with me because I sing along to the music they play over the tannoy and embarrass the crap out of them. Sometimes I dance too.
  1. I once auditioned for X factor. I got through a round or two but didn’t get far enough to meet the celeb judges.

 

  1. I have a thing for crime based and supernatural based TV shows. Law and Order, CSI, NCIS, Criminal Minds/Buffy, Supernatural, Grimm, Lost Girl… I love them all!
  1. Harry Potter is like a security blanket for me. If I am upset about anything at all, I will either put on the DVD’s or read the books until I feel better.
  1. I am left handed. I share this trait with some amazing people like: Leonardo Da Vinci, Michaelangelo, Drew Barrymore, Pierce Brosnan, Jim Carrey, Angelina Jolie, Whoopi Goldberg, Judy Garland, Marilyn Monroe, Brad Pitt, Lewis Carroll, Germaine Greer, Matt Groening, Bart Simpson, David Bowie, Eminem, Sting, Annie Lennox, Kurt Cobain, Aristotle, Einstein, Joan of Arc, Prince William and Winston Churchill.
  1. My Myers-Briggs personality type is INFJ. Apparently less than 1% of the world’s population is an INFJ. (I really am a rare creature, aren’t I?) Here is what Wikipedia says about the INFJ Personality Type.

INFJs are conscientious and value-driven. They seek meaning in relationships, ideas, and events, with an eye toward better understanding of themselves and others. Using their intuitive skills, they develop a clear and confident vision, which they then set out to execute, aiming to better the lives of others. Like their INTJ counterparts, INFJs regard problems as opportunities to design and implement creative solutions.[12]

INFJs can adapt easily in social situations due to their complex understanding of an individual’s motivations; however, they are true introverts. INFJs are private individuals who prefer to exercise their influence behind the scenes. Though they are very independent, INFJs are intensely interested in the well-being of others. INFJs prefer one-on-one relationships to large groups. Sensitive and complex, they are adept at understanding complicated issues and driven to resolve differences in a cooperative and creative manner.[3]

INFJs have a rich, vivid inner life that they may be reluctant to share with those around them. Nevertheless, they are congenial in their interactions and perceptive of the emotions of others. Generally well liked by their peers, they may often be considered close friends and confidants by most other types; however, they are guarded in expressing their own feelings, especially to new people, and tend to establish close relationships slowly. INFJs tend to be easily hurt, though they may not reveal it (except to their closest companions). INFJs may “silently withdraw as a way of setting limits” rather than expressing their wounded feelings—a behaviour that may leave others confused and upset.[13]

INFJs tend to be sensitive, quiet leaders with a great depth of personality. They are intricately, deeply woven, mysterious, highly complex, and often puzzling, even to themselves. They have an orderly view toward the world but are internally arranged in a complex way that only they can understand. Abstract in communicating, they live in a world of hidden meanings and possibilities. With a natural affinity for art, INFJs tend to be creative and easily inspired, yet they may also do well in the sciences, aided by their intuition”

If that hasn’t told you lots about me then I don’t know what will!

Liebster Award3

Onto the Questions Kate set for me:

  1. What are you currently reading? – I have just started The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson. I belong to a book club and I need to finish it by the end of the month. It’s long, but so far really good. 
  2. Who is your favourite author, and why? – My favourite author is Stephen King. I love how he addresses the human psyche in his stories; their strengths and their weaknesses. I have a ‘thing’ for psychology so I love reading fiction with real life situations (but mixed with a bit of scary creepy horror too.)
  3. If you are a writer, do you try to get a certain word count each day? – I don’t keep track of how much I write each day, but I do make sure to write something every day, even if nobody ever gets to see it.
  4. In 25 words, tell me about yourself. – Can I use up the words complaining about how I hate these kinds of questions? No? Damn. Okay:

    I am a feisty sarcastic, cheeky, music loving, compassionate, left-handed, occasionally grumpy British woman with a love for cats, singing in inappropriate places, and writing.

     

  5. Why do you blog? I started my blog because my creative writing course told me it would be a good idea to have a blog to get some practice and experience with writing, and also to get my name out there. It’s good for marketing my ‘brand’ or something. Three months later I am blogging because I love when people enjoy my stories and I am enjoying every moment. Now have received my first award! I hope to be blogging for a long time to come.
  6. What’s your favourite song or piece of music and why? – This is impossible to answer because I can’t pick just one song or even a small number. Music is my first love; my vice. I have sung for as long as I can remember and I tend to associate people and memories to songs, making them all precious to me in their own way.
  7. How many magazines do you subscribe to, and what are they? – I only subscribe to one at the moment: Writing Magazine. If you anyone has any recommendations for useful or interesting magazines then I would love to hear them.
  8. Share one weakness and one strength with us. – Okay, strength wise, I would have to go with my ability to see the bigger picture. I am good at seeing a situation from every angle, and understand each person’s point of view. I think that is especially helpful for writing fiction, as I can see how each character would react to a situation, how their reactions would differ, and how to show that in my writing. Weakness wise, I would have to say that I am far too emotional. Whilst I enjoy that my writing often revolves around an emotional theme, I do tend to react emotionally to advice/constructive criticism first, before my logical side kicks in and points out that its truthful, sensitive, helpful advice that I can benefit greatly from.
  9. Which animal are you most like, and why? – For this question I turned to the internet and took a test on www.animalinyou.com to find out what they thought. Apparently I am a penguin! I have to say, I like the results. Here is what the website says about penguin people.

Now you see it, now you don’t. Aggressive yet gentle, outgoing but shy, stable yet flighty – everyone sees the penguin in a different way. It’s that black and white thing: the penguin only reveals the side that it wants to you to see. So whether you like this darling-devil or not, you have to concede that it’s a fascinating and enigmatic individual.

Penguins are birds condemned to live out their days on the ground. Unable to fly, their excess energy has no outlet save their creative talents and emotional outbursts. Penguins are poetic, artistic, and intellectually gifted, and as writers penguins have no equal.

But, if unable to channel their impulses in a positive way, the resulting turmoil proves damaging to their relationships and careers.

Penguins are deceptively intelligent and are particularly animated when intellectually challenged. They excel at word games and puzzles but are modest about their abilities and are generally underestimated by others.

With their misunderstood personality, penguins find writing an ideal tool for expressing their true feelings. They have a natural aptitude for languages and penguin personalities dominate the world of publishing as writers, editors, and journalists.

With a natural aptitude for languages, penguin personalities dominate the world of publishing as writers, editors and journalists. A strong sense of drama draws them to the theater and cinema, although unlike typical bird personalities they avoid the spotlight unless they’re able to hide behind the characters they play. Once on stage however, they prove to be excellent performers with their multifaceted personalities conveying the full gamut of emotions.

However, a lack of confidence affects their work. Penguins tend to give up on tasks they were otherwise capable of and are often disappointed with their performance. Still, work never dominates their life and they always put their family first.

  1. Share one goal you plan to achieve in the next 6 months. – I have a novella/novel in the making which I am excited about. I hope to have it completed and published in the next 6 months as my first ever published piece of work. I will make sure to announce it loud and proud on my blog. 

I hope this has provided lots of insight into my world and I would like to thank Kate once again for nominating me.

Liebster Award2

I would like to nominate the following people:

  • Emily @ 90,000 Words. This may come as a bit of a surprise, seeing as I haven’t actually spoken to Emily or commented on her blog (yet) but I have read her posts and it is blindingly obvious that she is intelligent, articulate, funny, and full of passion for her writing. If you don’t follow her already, please go and check out her blog.
  • E.B.Thompson @ An author’s Quest. E.B Thompson’s first novel Starling was released at the new year and I recommend you go and download a copy and give it a read. In the meantime check out her blog.
  • Chris Musgrave @ Chris Musgrave – Writer in Training. Chris’s blog is full of writing tips, amazing stories and book reviews. He is also always willing to give me a hand with whatever I am working on or trying to learn about the big scary world of writing and for that I will be eternally grateful. Check out his blog.
  • Bethanie Hardie @ Left- Hand Writer. Bethanie is my writing twin 😀 we are both british, left handed and writers. (Although, Bethanie is far more experienced and knowledgeable than I am.) Bethanie actually has two blogs on the go so check them both out. Check out her published work too 😀

Everyone else I have thought of already has this award so four is going to have to do. accepting this reward is entirely voluntary and does not have a time limit. If you do accept, make sure to answer the below questions on your post.

  1. Where in the world are you blogging from?

  2. If you were Santa, what would you give to the children on your naughty list?

  3. Introduce a character from your current writing project.

  4. If you could go back to any point in your childhood, where would you go to?

  5. If you won the lottery tomorrow, what would you do with the money?

  6. If you could choose any author to be your mentor, who would you choose and why?

  7. Name one possession that you just couldn’t live without.

  8. Who is your biggest inspiration? (can be famous, fictional or someone you know personally)

  9. Name one thing you can’t do, that you wish you could.

  10. If you could be anyone in the world for one day, who would you be and why?

I hope you enjoyed getting to know me through my gross over-share of random stuff, feel free to comment if you feel this wasn’t over-share enough and you want to know more.

3 comments

  1. We are so alike, it is both cool and strange at the same time haha. Anyway, great post! I got Bison, but it did say that I might also be a penguin or an owl!
    Thank you for the nomination, as my exams are over I will get to work on this & that other thing too! 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi Naomi, nice to meet you and thank you so much for your nomination. It got stuck in my spam comments so I only just saw it today. I am so grateful and flattered by your comments above about my blog 90,000 words, you truly have made my day. I have been very impressed by your blog and writing as well, albeit from afar until now. Thanks again and I hope to be more of a frequent visitor moving forward! Cheers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

